## FALKIRK ARCHIVES

## Local authority records

## **Bo'ness Community Council Finding Aid**

Bo'ness Community Council was established in 1974 under the terms of the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973 (c.65). Community councils were to co-ordinate and express to the local authorities for their area and other interested public authorities the views of the communities they represent relating to matters administered by the local authorities. Community councils have a wide remit and can act as campaigning organisations and raise awareness of specific local issues.

Bo'ness (Borrowstounness) was made a Burgh of Regality in 1668, a Burgh of Barony in 1748 and a Police Burgh in 1883. The Burgh was incorporated in 1903. Local Government originated with the Bo'ness Harbour Trustees in 1744. The Trustees became Town and Harbour Trustees in 1843 with enlarged powers. In 1883 the Trustees were replaced by Police and Burgh Commissioners who were in turn replaced in 1903 by Bo'ness Town Council. In 1975 Bo'ness and the surrounding area became part of Falkirk District. Previously the surrounding area had been part of the County of West Lothian.

## **Bo'ness Community Council**

A776.003 (Circa 1980) Burgh of Borrowstounness - Bo'ness Town Guide